Owning Mundane Errands

We went to run errands.

I’m still learning about my new old phone. I am the proud owner of an iphone 4 that was Chris’s 5 years ago, and then Eric’s.  So I’m learning how to use it.  Today I learned that I don’t want to email pictures within the gmail program on the phone.  They turn out awful.  You’ll see what I mean as you read on.  So I had to do some playing around with them just to make them kinda fit to put on the blog.  I owned it.  The day, the camera, the bad pictures.  We must adapt, roll with it, be flexible.

So today I needed to run errands.  Just Ye Olde Boring Mundane Errands in Bellingham.  But I had all 3 of my kids home at the same time, which is a rarity, so we all went together. And having my kids with me makes it a thing.  An event.  An Adventure.

image (3)

First, I made homemade iced lattes for everyone.

photo (20)

(look at how dead our poor grass is.) And head for Costco.  Adrienne and I start the Costco shopping, whilst the boys hit Office Depot:

0721151028

image (21)

I’m sure the Home Depot people had no idea what was going on.

image (5)

Then we ran into an old friend at Costco!  (we actually saw 3 friends, but I only made one of them take a picture with me).  Kim and I have known each other since before there was Dylan, but we don’t see each other very often.  Fun to run into her. She showed me a cool list-making app I can get for my phone….

image (6)

and after we bought groceries, we had lunch.

image (8)

image (9)

…and then pushed our load to the car.  We are SO dramatic.

image (10)

Then we headed to the bead store to pick up some pendants so I can make some Seahawks necklaces.

image (12)

And we found beads that the boys wanted made into necklaces, which I was more than happy to oblige.  Aren’t the skulls cool?

008-001

After the bead store, we go to Michaels for yarn that wasn’t there.

image (11)

…so we had to go to Joann’s

image (14)

where we found fun people to play with

image (13)

After that, our errands were done and we were on our way home when we realized we needed baby kisses. So we stopped at Nicole’s who had no idea we were coming and found us like this at her door–

 image (15)

We each held and smooched on cute baby and his sweet mama.

image (16)

image (18)

We arrived home, unloaded 1200 pounds of groceries and called our adventure a good day.

And we didn’t forget Eric–I bought his favorite:

photo (18)

A day of mundane errands became a Grand Adventure because we chose to enjoy each other and Own It.

Whatever you’re doing today, Own It.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Owning Mundane Errands

  1. ramblingtart says:

    I love this SO much. 🙂 Just sitting here beaming like a cheshire cat at your hilarious faces and marvelous sense of adventure. 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    It’s a great day when big kids with muscles and a costco run come together!

Leave a Reply

