Mikey Plays Ball

I’m sitting with one dog asleep next to me and one dog asleep at my feet with the Price is Right on tv and a cup of fake coffee next to me.  There’s been lotsa life happening lately, more than I can keep up with, if truth be told. Nicole’s baby is due to arrive in the next 3 weeks.  Adrienne turned 13 the other day. Eric started a poetry blog.  Dylan finished his 4 year at Western and is within 2 quarters of graduating.  And Mike’s been playing ball with the church softball team this spring.  Last night, with the warm sun shining and soft breeze blowing, we wandered over to watch him–and it couldn’t have been a more beautiful evening.

002-001

What you can’t see is that Mike is wearing his Grumpy Cat tank top and doing his best Grumpy Cat impersonation.

business130930_grumpycat_2_560

004

We watched Mike man 1st base.

005

I put my camera knobby on the icon of the little dude running and hoped I could get a couple “action” shots.

017

We watched Mike bat.

019

And run.

We’ve been watching church softball games off and on for 24 years–since Chris was 5 months old and Nicole was 3 and we went to watch Daddy play.  Eventually, we watched Chris and Nicole play, then Dylan, now Mike.  And I love the sameness of it all–the place, the people, some of the umpires are the same, kids running around, friends laughing together, people cheering and clapping encouragement for their people. I grew up in 6 or 7 different towns going to 5 or 6 different schools. There is a sweetness in having been in the same place for 25 years.

012-001

And Oh.My.Gosh these Little Ones were so stinkin cute.  Totally threw me back 10ish years, when that was my little girl, covered in baseball dirt having the very best time.  Littles covered in dirt are my favorite.

Mike’s team didn’t win. They don’t win much.  But it was close. They were tied and had to go to extra innings.  And in baseball, that’s the best kind of game.  And then we wandered back home.  Quite happy and content that we had a little adventure, and shared a moment with our boy that will always be a memory…

031

014

How much it is that I love this face.

I don’t know if he’ll ever really understand how very much I adore him.

Own the Day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mikey Plays Ball

  1. ramblingtart says:

    Love this so, so, so much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

