Happy New Year!…better late than never

Happy Day to you, friends!  The sun is streaming through my windows, the dogs are sleeping-one next to me, one at my feet.  Adrienne is doing math homework.  All my guys are gone at school and work and I’m rocking a headache like a boss.

There’s so much that’s been going on since we last chatted that I’m overwhelmed and don’t know where to start, so I’m just holding my breath and diving in, starting with the biggest thing first.

Eric got a new job!  He is still at the hospital, but now he is working in medical records which means instead of working till midnight or 1 a.m. he’s home now by 5 p.m.-no weekends or holidays.  It’s Monday through Friday.  I can hardly believe it.  It’s been 12 years since he had more “normal” hours and we had a more normal family life.  Adrienne (age 12) has never known what it’s like to sit down to a table for dinner night after night.

For the first time in her life, school is uninterrupted.  When Eric worked evening shift, we had to stop everything between 11 a.m and 2 p.m. if we wanted time with him–that’s “evening time”. If we didn’t take the time for that, the kids wouldn’t have seen Dad for days at a time.  Well, it’s no secret that I’m not high energy and working up momentum in any activity later in the day is difficult for me.  I can’t believe the difference already.  Just getting to plan dinner, set the table and eat together every single night is such a privilege–we are feeling quite spoiled.

This is the start of Eric’s 2nd week at the new position and he’s really enjoying it and I am enjoying it from home.

Another huge thing is that our older daughter, Nicole is expecting her first baby!  Our first grand baby!  Baby is due in July so we’re having all sorts of fun planning and dreaming.

006-001

Adrienne and Nicole having coffee at WOODS

In other news, Mike wrapped his car around a pole, driving too fast on a country road as he was late for worship practice. By nothing but the grace of God he didn’t hit anything or anyone except the pole. And though he walked away without so much as a headache, the back end of the car is trashed.

1229140942

Eric and I took a secret trip to Disneyland in December and I have pictures all ready to post and show you.  I can’t wait to tell you all about it, it was the best trip ever!

And I have 2015 goals and dreams to tell you all about, too.  My take on New Year’s Resolutions.  My original list went like the following as I thought it might be nice to have a list that I can actually be pretty darn sure I can accomplish:

Make a list of unattainable goals and desires.

Be frustrated when I can’t attain them.

Feel sorry for myself.

Do pilates so seldom that when I do them, I get a nasty headache.

Forget someone’s birthday. Hope it’s someone that will forgive me.

Have chronic health issues: have no social life.

Be a bad example to Adrienne by grumbling at other drivers’ bad driving.

Feed my dogs too many treats.

From time to time, resent the fact that I’m still home schooling.

Forget to cook dinner several times a week.

Forget how to change my blog header and have it look like Christmas most of the year.

Spend too much money on Amazon.

Miss my sister so much it hurts.

Be late returning library books and owe the library a minimum of $15 every three months.

Yell at the dogs.

So after this cathartic exercise I began mulling over actual goals/dreams/desires for this coming year.  The question I asked myself:  if you could do anything this year what would it be? And I realized I had all these things tucked in the pages of my brain that I’d been saving, waiting for the opportunity to do. So I started writing it all down….and I will post on that in a few days.  It was really SO much fun.

Okay, well that’s enough for one day.  I’m off to work on the fingerless mitts I’m knitting for Eric at his request.  I hope you are having the mostly loveliest of days.  And remember to Own It.

028

Christmas Tree at Disneyland, December 2014

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New Year!…better late than never

  1. Goodness. I’m so, so happy about all of this! You went to Disneyland?! That’s so fantastic. I’m so happy about Eric’s new position and you getting a regular, easier life schedule! And Nicole’s baby! Eeek. It’s all so awesome. Love your list of not-goals. Ha! You’re so funny. I’ve always wished you would write books. Post again soon.

  2. ramblingtart says:

    I’m sitting here in the house all by myself laughing hard at your goals list. 🙂 So darn funny and so darn REAL. I adore you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

