The Apple Farm

This morning, I’m sitting here in my robe, the radio is playing in the kitchen because I want to hear if caller #25 will win the contest or not.  The view out my slider door is gorgeous. The maples are bright yellow and deep red.  The dahlias in the neighbors vegetable garden still have big orange flowers on them.  And I’m scribbling all I have to do today into the notebook which sits on top of the School Lesson Planner where I write down the things we actually get done.  And I’m smiling as I recall the field trip Adrienne and I took last Friday.

We call it The Pumpkin Farm or The Apple Farm. It’s both. But that’s not its name.  It’s actually Stoney Ridge Farm. But fall comes and all I can remember is that I want to go to The Pumpkin-Apple Farm.  Honestly, my favorite part (other than all the cute decorations) is the wagon ride that gets you down to the pumpkin fields and apple orchard. It used to be the goats, which involved a ramp, a bell, goat food, a little bucket and a pulley system, but the goats haven’t been quite so into it the last few times we’ve been there, so the wagon it is.

Washington State History class taught us that Washington produces 58% of all apples in the U.S. –and that’s a good reason to visit. (like we needed a reason)  This year, just Adrienne and I went, meeting friends, and having fun on a very blustery, gray, rainy fall day.

040

016

049

051

034

019

027

037-001

042

052

(This picture of the wheel barrows just cracked me up. It’s like they all fell on their sides and can’t get up.)

060

064

073

071

We wrapped up our visit with delicious apple pie with ice cream and caramel sauce.

In other news, I finished baby boy sweater for my niece’s baby shower that’s coming up. I can’t show you the whole thing yet–it’s supposed to be a surprise…but here’s a peek.

006-001

And I started a wee little dress…

008

Now I must go plop something in the crockpot for dinner, take something for this headache, and grab a shower.  Time to get movin’.

Own the Day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Apple Farm

  1. ramblingtart says:

    What a gorgeous, gorgeous day!!! 🙂 You’ve filled up my oh-so-empty-Autumn-tank to brimming. 🙂 Those wheelbarrows make me laugh too. STUNNING photos, darling! Some of your very best EVER. 🙂

Leave a Reply

