Mother’s Day Mosaics

For Mother’s Day, I wanted our little troop to make mosaic garden stones together. So I researched and read and gathered stuff and here’s what we did:

009

There are a couple different ways to do it.  Darren voted for the premade stones ($1 ea).

020

You can buy the little pretty glass stones for $1-$3 a bag at Walmart or hobby store.  The first step is to lay out a design. We used 12×12 scrapbook paper as a guide.

028

After you’ve got your design ready, you slather cement over the top of the stone and decorate.

021

This one is mine.

022

This one is Adrienne’s

029

This one is Dylan’s.-Dylan went abstract.  That’s the beach, sea and sky.  Can you find the fish? And do  you see the starship Enterpise?   That boy makes me smile.

These are all pre-grout.  The cement has to dry before they’re grouted.  Here is mine post-grout:

004

For a “1st try”, we’re happy. But next time I would try one or two things a different way.  They didn’t come out as smashingly gorgeous as we’d hoped, or as the googled articles showed them to be.  But then that’s usually the case.  We’ve still got a bag of pretty glass stones and a bunch of ideas.  I’ll keep you posted.

And as for the knitting:

001

The baby blanket is finished and has gone to its new home.

011

And I finished this doodle.  Doodling has turned out to be such a sweet spot in my world.  No rules.  Doesn’t matter if anybody likes it except me.  And I can doodle when I’m too tired or have too bad of a headache to knit.  Doodles are such happy things!

It’s your day—OWN IT!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mother’s Day Mosaics

  1. Amazing. You guys are so creative! Love it. The doodle is beautiful.

  2. Ruth says:

    Very fun! And I totally see both the items in your sons! We’ve done it where u have wet cement that u push stuff into. I think that was how we did it. No grout required.

Leave a Reply

