Easter Chocolate Salad

We “Yard Bombed” Nicole and Darren’s place again.  The first time was for Valentine’s Day, this is obviously in honor of Easter.  So much delight in just $3.  Adrienne and Mike love doing this as much as Nicole loves coming home to the surprise of it.

003

Easter is rapidly approaching. I’ve been planning for over a month. That’s the way things hafta roll around here if there’s any hope of things actually getting done.

Nicole and I finally decided on a menu. We’re having savory crepes with filling choices of chicken, pepperoni, cheddar or pepper jack cheese, sauted bacon, peas, spinach, onion and/or mushrooms. And I am making 4 salads.  Greek, Black Bean/Corn, Asian, and Chocolate.

Recipe for a Chocolate Salad:

Gather your ingredients–

008

As with a (nasty) raw vegetable salad, be sure you have a variety of shapes, textures, colors and flavors.  Today we have Snickers, Dark Chocolate Kisses, Reese’s Eggs, Malt ball eggs, garnished with mini marshmallows-cuz after all, what’s a salad without croutons?

Peeled or unpeeled, that’s your call.  If you leave the salad unpeeled it’s more colorful, but if you’re looking for a more sophisticated adult chocolate salad, you’ll want to unwrap all your ingredients and let the different shapes speak for themselves. This is a salad for kids, so we’re going with bright and shiny.

The secret to a great salad is in the tossing.  Make sure you toss thoroughly to give all the ingredients a chance to get nice and friendly and so that each serving gets all the ingredients.

016

Chocolate Salads can be eaten with or without dressing.  If you’re a dressing kind of dude, I’ve found caramel sauce slightly warmed is excellent, especially with a side of ice cream.

And I made sure that I have “to-go” boxes so that the kids can take home the “leftovers”.

 (check out the dollar store-I got 8 cute “to go” boxes for a dollar or 5 “yard bombs”. If you’re too proud to shop in the dollar store, wear a disguise or make your kids go in, I’m telling you it’s worth it.)

019

  Friends are coming with their kids.  We’ll have 9 kids here from 17 down to 5.  I. Can’t. Wait.  I may not be a Gramma yet, but that doesn’t mean I can’t act like one. I bought a frisbee, an 8 pack of bubbles, and Jiffy Pop.  We’re going to have Peeps on a stick, and bunny cupcakes, and chocolate salad. We’re gonna play games and throw the frisbee and maybe fly a kite and get all the stuff out of the dress up box and take pictures of ourselves.  I mean the kids. We’ll take pictures of the kids. (okay, yep, and me too. I wouldn’t be left out for the world.)

With all the creative juices going toward Easter, I’ve got Knitter’s Block. Which is just like Writer’s Block only with knitting. There are several things I’m going to start knitting just as soon as Easter is over.  I just can’t focus right now.  Knitting seems uninspiring when there are Easter crafts to make and cupcakes to bake before Easter has come and gone.

But knitting understands.  It’s a good friend, it knows that I get distracted and busy with holidays so it’s patient with me. Knitting knows I’ll be back.

What are you doing for Easter?

He is Risen!  He is Risen Indeed!

Own the Day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easter Chocolate Salad

  1. ramblingtart says:

    You guys are SO fun!!! 🙂 What a jolly Easter you’re going to have. 🙂

Leave a Reply

