Not Sure There’s Enough

The other day, I got a text from my sis letting me know she’d sent the sweater I left when I was there last month, and that she’d stuck in the yarn she bought me on her trip to Ireland last year. But she wasn’t sure there was enough.  She isn’t familiar with how much yarn it takes to knit something.  She hadn’t thought about that when she bought it.  She really really hoped there would be enough.  I assured her whatever she sent, I could work with and what a lovely surprise it would be to see it.

The next day, the box arrived.  In an effort to give you perspective, here is a 50 gram skein next to my ipod. with this skein I can knit one sock, or one mitten, or most of a cowl.001

003

and here is a 100 gram skein next to that. With 100 grams I can knit a couple hats, or a baby sweater. These are the 2 “normal sizes” that skeins come in.

Here’s the the skein that my sister bought me:

004

Yep, that puppy is FOUR HUNDRED GRAMS.  I’m fairly certain that’s enough yarn to make something.  🙂  Oh she makes my heart smile.

007

Here are the mittens that are headed to Oregon for a friend in hopes of brightening her difficult days.  I hope these mittens hug her over and over for me, since I can’t be there.

010

And finally, here I am with Finn, who couldn’t stand that I was photographing yarn instead of paying attention to him so he jumped into my lap.  He isn’t a lap dog.  He is a high energy, bouncy, happy, hyper puppy.  When he gets in your lap it isn’t to sit and be loved and petted, it’s to make sure you know where your attention should be directed.  I barely managed to get a picture of us before he was on the floor demanding I play fetch with him. And who could resist that face?  So play fetch I did.

Hope you’re having a beautiful day!

Own It.

laugh. dance. learn. create. knit.

or whatever you love to do

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not Sure There’s Enough

  1. Nicole W says:

    I love this! Awesome! I died laughing about the size of that skein! 😀

  2. ramblingtart says:

    That is a HUGE ball of yarn!! How fun to have wool from Ireland. That is so special. 🙂 And you and Finn are gorgeous. 🙂

  3. Kari says:

    “He isn’t a lap dog. He is a high energy, bouncy, happy, hyper puppy. When he gets in your lap it isn’t to sit and be loved and petted, it’s to make sure you know where your attention should be directed.”

    So… your dog is a cat?

  4. love those mittens… lucky friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

