Chicks with Swagger

Yesterday friends and I walked on the ferry to Port Townsend.

port-townsend-from-water2

Port Townsend, Washington

(photo credit: sanjuanclassicdaysailing.com)

Many Victorian homes and buildings were built during the late 1800s, when Port Townsend was a well-known seaport.

001

Several of the buildings have been recently repainted. They are gorgeous and as I walk down the street I daydream about what these beautiful buildings looked like back in the day.  With their new paint jobs, it isn’t difficult to picture them all gussied up and gorgeous, with women in long flowing dresses and men in fine suits walking the streets.

036

Chocokitty is AWOL I think he had a sleepover for spring break and hasn’t come home yet, so Griswold offered to take his place helping to chronicle our adventure.

033

004

We walked…

005

and shopped…

008

ate lunch…

011

and goofed off…

015

and goofed off some more…

021

and looked cute.

When we stepped off the ferry in Port Townsend, I texted Eric to let him know we made the ferry we were shooting for. This was his reply:

“I can just see it now—a group of gorgeous hip chicks swaggerin’ down Main street, owning the place. You ladies have loads of fun.”

I don’t know how much swaggerin’ we did, but we did feel like we owned the place.

026

And, with Leslie’s help, I tried a little artistic photography, first the reflection of the Victorian building in a window selling antiques, and second…

030

this is a “tasting bar”, of flavored olive oils and vinegars.

037-001

And last, MUST ALWAYS drink hot chocolate from the Seattle’s Best Coffee vending machine on the ferry ride back.  I want one of these for my house.

Spring Break is officially over. Back to school tomorrow.

Own the Day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chicks with Swagger

  1. ramblingtart says:

    What a marvelous adventure!! I love seeing all the smiling faces. I’m so glad you guys were able to get away for a day. 🙂 xo

  2. Terry says:

    Oh my. That is my kind of fun. Wish I’d been with you.

    • asplashofgrace says:

      Oh Terry! Next time you’re here, we must not let it snow! And we will take you to Port Townsend! We shall have loads of fun. 😉

Leave a Reply

