The Current State of Things

I’ve been knitting mittens.  Mittens for family just because they wanted them, and mittens for friends that are terribly, awfully, brutally ill.  The sick ones live too far away for me to be any use. But I can knit.  So that’s what I do.  My hope is that the mittens provide something tangible that reminds them they are loved.

003

These are living in the Carolinas.

016

These went to live in New York and New Mexico.

001

And these are bound for Oregon-hopefully later this week. That second mitt on the needles is still in its infancy, but she will grow fast.

I’ve been doing a bit of doodling…

002

I’m at the figure-out-what-you-like stage of doodling.  So far, I’m enjoying the free form creativity of it.  It’s so unlike knitting wherein each project follows a formula.  In doodling there’s no right or wrong, you don’t have to wonder if it will fit when you’re done, or if sock 1 will the same length as sock 2 or if the cowl will actually fit over your head…….grrrrrr.

I knit a cowl for my sister for Christmas. And guess what?…it won’t go over her head.  So she is sending it back to me and I shall make another.  And try to figure out why it didn’t work-pattern error, or knitter error.  With my wee little menopause brain, it won’t surprise me, if it’s knitter error. Sooooo frustrating.

Yesterday I found myself at home ALONE.  It was quite shocking.  It seldom happens here.  Adrienne is at school only 2 days a week and I’ve got guys that stay up until way early morning o’clock every night so that I’m rarely ever in my house without people coming and going, asking questions, making messes, needing a hundred things from me.  But there I was, ……alone.

I knit. (of course I did.) and then I organized the entity that is called Knitting, that grows and changes and adapts and crawls its way into the corners of the house. A project here, a partial one there, another bag I found to hold knitting, needles people return to me, a pattern to knit “later”, a thousand sticky notes and various ziplock bags full of random skeins of yarn….

I made a huge dent in the monster and fought it back to a manageable size.  And yes, I’m quite proud of myself. Though there is quite a bit of “putting away” to be done.  After the organizing there always seems to be more of a mess somehow.

Tomorrow is the first day of Spring Break.  I have had my wits about me this year, and have a couple things planned so that the kids don’t go completely crazy (and me with them).  A friend sleepover, roller skating, maybe a museum.  I’ll keep you posted.

Any suggestions for Spring Break Sanity?

Own the Day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Current State of Things

  1. Melody says:

    i love your heart, beautiful friend, and I love you. =)

  2. ramblingtart says:

    This makes me smile so big. 🙂 So much of your love spread around the world. XO And I adore your doodling, ADORE IT!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

