Mind Blown

 Adrienne did this at the coffee shop today:

007

008

010

011

It takes 12 different little pieces of paper, folded in a dozen different ways, and then somehow, magically, tucked into each other to form this “stellated octahedron” we affectionately call “The Spikey Ball”.

Origami is something I just can’t do.  I can’t take a 2 dimensional drawing and figure out how to make a 3 dimensional object.  I stink at legos, too, for the same reason.  Thankfully, we have a friend that loves origami.  She makes crazy amazing boxes and shapes. We’ve been getting together every so often for months, to talk knitting, crocheting and spinning, and while we talk, she does origami with Adrienne.

You know what I love?  I love all the different ways creativity asserts itself.  And I love that I’m not good at all of it. And neither are you.  We all get to enrich each other’s lives by the beauty we create individually.

Today, I reveled in the creativity of my eleven year old and her Spikey Ball while I did this:

003

Right now, she’s making a Spikey Ball for her science teacher and she’s doing it all by herself-no youtube, no book, no notes-all from memory.  And that pretty much blows my mind.

I challenge you to share something you’re creating with someone today-you’ll enrich the world around you and brighten someone’s day.

Own the Day!

Laugh. Dance. Learn. Create. Knit

or whatever you love to do!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mind Blown

  1. ramblingtart says:

    That is truly incredible!!! My brain doesn’t function that way either and I’m SO amazed by those who can see this in their head and make it happen. AMAZING. 🙂

    • asplashofgrace says:

      Rambling Tart, I know, right?! I’m looking forward to seeing the adult she becomes with the strengths she has. And I get particular joy when I see creativity that is beyond my own abilities. I thoroughly enjoy that we’re all different and bring beautiful things to this world.

  2. Wow! That is truly amazing. And such pretty colors too. Thank you for posting.

    • asplashofgrace says:

      I’m enjoying learning where she thrives and focusing our energy there. School is all about pointing out weaknesses and trying to eliminate them rather than on strengths. I’m trying to focus more energy on the positive–it’s quite challenging. I know you understand. Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

