With September comes (happy) chaos

There’s a lot that goes on around here in September.

Korean Thanksgiving, our son-in-law-Darren’s birthday, Adrienne’s Welcome Home Day, Molly’s (the dog) birthday (when you have an 11 yr old that loves animals the way mine does, you cannot get away without celebrating the dog’s birthday), and then, of course, school starts.

003

With school comes the whirlwind of comings and goings of all my people. 1st, the high school started up so that, Mike, after a summer of crawling out of bed at the crack of noon, is suddenly up and out of the house at 730 a.m. Then there are football games, youth group activities and friends.  Next, Adrienne started back (she is 1/2 regular school, 1/2 home school) which put me in teacher/lesson plan/homework mode. And last, Dylan’s classes kicked off at Western, which means he flies in and out of here to classes and work at an alarming rate with no sense of regularity.

003

004

This is part of the 4 foot tall by 7 foot wide blank world map that is hanging in the hall

It’s all good stuff, it just makes me so tired. September has always been the month I’m the most tired, just because of all the added responsibility (good stress is still stress) that school brings with it.  It takes my poor stuffing-for-brains all month to get adjusted.  By October, things are leveling out.

My creative side suffers most.  The argument can be made that planning for school lessons and projects is being creative. And you would be right , but it’s not the kind of creativity that promotes or feeds into more energy and creativity.  It’s more like daily exercise makes you stronger and overall gives more energy, while running a 1/2 marathon is also exercise, but it’s the kind that leaves you exhausted for the rest of the day.

So though is plenty to knit, I find I’m a bit apathetic as of late.  I finished the green scarf and started another, but I don’t really “feel” like working on my sweater or the baby blanket-both of which I’m about 1/2 way through. The thought of being creative kinda makes me tired right now.  And good grief, I’m quite tired enough thankyouverymuch.

So I’m doing the only thing I can think of in my state of exhaustion-I am starting a completely new project.

006

I love this variegated red I found.

I didn’t say I was brilliant, but I do try to keep truckin’ along.

Own the Day!

laugh. dance. learn. create. knit.

or whatever you love to do

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to With September comes (happy) chaos

  1. ramblingtart says:

    You’re the best trucker-along-er I know. 🙂 Love the new yarn!! 🙂

  2. Abigail L says:

    Haha love this! What an accurate picture of September, especially when you’ve got some kids in college and some still at home and some working…have fun with your new project! =)

  3. It sounds like you have everything under control to me. You asked about the spoon. I believe I bought it at Pottery Barn, but that was 4 or 5 years ago. Have a wonderful week. Blessings…Mary

Leave a Reply

