Midlife-not for the faint of heart

I have hot flashes.  I’ve been having them for 11 yrs which is nothing really interesting, I’m supposed to be having them at my age.  But this morning was a particularly “flashing” kind of morning, with sweat dripping down my back and front and neck and off my bangs into my eyes.  And I suddenly lost it.  So I did what any intelligent 48 yr old woman would do, I grabbed the scissors and chopped the bangs. And I was quite pleased with myself until I realized that all those hairs I just chopped were now glued to the sweat all over my face.  It took 10 minutes and sand paper to get them off.

It’s not the hot flashes I mind so much, and I really don’t mind getting older, it’s all the weird things.  It’s the hairs suddenly winging out my nose I have to trim, and the realization in a store that I’m dancing my way down the aisle cuz I’m thinking about a song in my head.  (I dance in public anyway, it’s just that I’d like to be aware of it at the time.) It’s the zits on my eyelids, the bladder the size of a thimble, and the inability to remember peoples names literally right after they tell me,

Friends, I’m only little more than half way to dead, which means I’ve got a really long time to be like this.

Yesterday I looked all over the living room for my glasses so I could sit down and knit….and yes, I was wearing them at the time.

002

Here’s one of the projects I cast on the other day.  Aren’t they SO cute? They aren’t really my style, but I’ve got a daughter that could rock them. That is, if I can remember who I’m knitting them for after they’re done.

Own the Day!

-hot flashes, eyelid zits and everything in between.

Laugh. Dance. Learn. Create. Knit

or whatever you love to do!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Midlife-not for the faint of heart

  1. Leslie says:

    Did you cast on with madeline tosh yarn? Is it lots of yarn overs and k2tog? Do you start at the toe? Can’t wait to see your hair.

    • asplashofgrace says:

      Leslie, Yes, they want us to cast on at the toe, but I decided to make them like yoga socks at the foot since I can’t see a heel made with lace weight lasting very long. And yes,that’s all it is: yarn overs, K2tog, and SSK. Not hard, but that yarn is TEENY. 🙂 Bringing the pattern to you next time I see you.

  2. ramblingtart says:

    Oh Moz, I’m laughing so hard! 🙂 I did the same thing with MY bangs the other day! THEY HAD TO GO! 🙂 I absolutely adore those stockings – love, love, love. 🙂 And as much as I wish you didn’t have all these ridiculous symptoms, I’m so glad you’re able to see the hilarious side of them and make the rest of us feel utterly normal. 🙂 XO

  3. Eric says:

    So is this the time in life when I get the Porsche? 🙂

  4. Hahahahahahahahhaaaaaaaasszaa! That’s me laughing WITH you all FH way from Arizona way!
    Love you, friend, thanks for sharing the hilarity and reminding me to find the humor in this a axing stage of life…

  5. Teresa says:

    Marie, I not only found a gray hair in my eyebrow, my nose and then a hair on my chin…….What is next????? My baby boy is now 13 yrs old….. and only 1/2 ” from 6’….. what is next??? driving cars, girlfriends and phone calls….

Leave a Reply

