Medieval Knitting

012

Molly-ain’t she a cutie?

In the spring, Eric and I were invited to be art of a medieval reenactment group in Australia called Blackwolf.  In order to be part of this very special group, we had to research and come up with personas.

“I am Liisi and I come from Estonia.  My husband died recently in an accident at the mill, leaving me with 5 children, the oldest being 15, the youngest being 6.  We aren’t able to make enough money with the boys working the fields, so I’ve begun to knit for the caravan that comes through on the Silk Road.  They sell my wares as they travel.  My niece travels with them.  Also I  have my eyes on Petrus (Eric’s persona), who is strong and kind and who makes mead for their journey.”

All my knitting is made from the fibers that they would have used in the 13th century and the patterns are Estonian.  In addition, I created the knitting patterns for the mitts and little bags myself, as Liisi surely would have done.

I had a tremendous amount of fun with the whole thing. Packaged it all up and shipped it off to Australia for the Abbey Medieval Festival in Brisbane.

002

007

004

 031

032

There will be lots of knitting to be done after Christmas for the next Medieval season.  I’ve already got patterns swimming round in my head.

I wonder what kinds of things you’re looking forward to creating in the coming months.

Own the Day!

Laugh. Dance. Learn. Create. Knit

or whatever you love to do

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Medieval Knitting

  1. ramblingtart says:

    Stunningly beautiful, dear friend. 🙂 I love your work so much I keep trying to think of ways I can display it in my house so I can see it all the time. 🙂 Perhaps a basket full of mittens on my side table? 🙂

Leave a Reply

