Infatuated with African Violets

There’s all kinds of stuff happening around here having to do with school starting up again. But I’ll save that for tomorrow.  Instead, here’s an update on yarn and stuff.

It was about this time last year I saw a picture of a crocheted baby blanket that was made of crocheted hexagons. But they weren’t normal Granny Square hexagons, they were African Flowers.  (Here’s a tutorial for them: http://heidibearscreative.blogspot.com/2010/05/african-flower-hexagon-crochet-tutorial.html   I tweaked the pattern a bit to get them to look more like I wanted them to.)

 I was instantly smitten.  So I gathered all the sock yarn in my stash that seemed to go together and this is what I came up with:

 Delicate. Sweet. Waiting.  Someday there will be Grandbabies.

001

********

I couldn’t stop. So I dug through the DK weight stash last week and found these colors.  A little heavier.  A little warmer.  And waiting for a baby boy.

You can really crank out African Violets while watching tv.  It took me two evenings to make enough for this one.  Think of all I will accomplish now that it’s college football season!  GO Huskies!

013

******************

I just can’t seem to stop.  I *had* to buy yarn for a baby girl blanket. This is the worsted weight I bought yesterday. When I get it done I’ll put them all side by side so you can see the different the weight of yarn makes.

016

By the way, not having specific babies to make things for doesn’t deter me a whit.

Now I must go finish filling the goody bags for our Back to School brunch.

Own the Day!

Laugh. Dance. Learn. Create. Knit.

or whatever you love to do

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Infatuated with African Violets

  1. ramblingtart says:

    Oh Marie, these are GORGEOUS!! I love the colors so very, very much. They feel so Autumnish and cozy and wonderful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

