After The Summer

After the most beautiful summer weather anyone here can remember, it’s officially Autumn.  I know this because

1. Football has started  2. All the new TV programming is about to start   3. Mike left for school this morning.

025-001

Mike (16 yrs., 11th grade) Dylan (20 yrs., WWU)-

…and this picture was their idea.  They wanted to show off their Disneyland hats.

These boys are learning to enjoy each other’s company.  I don’t know how other people’s children are-they all look like they are best friends and get along perfectly. We have found here, however, living in the same bedroom, sharing the same bathroom, parents, house, everything, for the last 16 yrs, can cause a certain tension (shocking, I know) and 4 yrs difference in age can create a generation gap.

One of my favorite sounds these days is the laughter that abounds when they are together.  They are old enough to figure out that the other guy is pretty darn great.

As for the rest– I took the summer off from blogging.  Mainly because I realized that I was pressuring myself to perform in order to have something that I deemed blogworthy.  I think it was related to losing the first 6 months of this year to illness and having a gazillion things I so wanted to do and couldn’t.

I’m good now.  I’m not well physically, but I’m good emotionally.  In acceptance there is peace…and humor.  Lots of humor.

So we move on!  Happy Back to School, Mike!  Way to be old and learn stuff!  Hope you have a fantastic year!

Own the Day!

Laugh. Dance. Learn. Create. Knit.

or whatever you love to do

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to After The Summer

  1. ramblingtart says:

    I love this post so much, my friend. 🙂 Hooray for brothers discovering they can be FRIENDS! 🙂 And an extra huge hooray for you feeling better emotionally. That makes EVERYTHING easier to bear. XO

  2. Leslie says:

    Hooray for laughter. The Lord knows how many fights, angry voices, frustration there happens between siblings on an hourly basis, at least for our family. You bare your trials with a brave heart.

Leave a Reply

