It’s Been Forever

It’s been forever since I’ve blogged.  I’ve still got health issues that have hung on since December that involve copious trips to the bathroom. I’m learning to live it with since I’ve no idea how long the symptoms are planning on being with me (which is way harder than it sounds).  Stupid stupid Bladder.

In the time since I’ve last chatted with you, one son has graduated both high school and college (with AA transfer degree) simultaneously, all our boys have celebrated birthdays-they are now 16, 20 and 22.  We celebrated Valentine’s Day and Easter and me turning 48 (for the next 4 months Eric will tease me incessantly about being older than him).  We’ve walked on the beach, played a dozen games of Spades and Adrienne has rearranged her bedroom–again.  Life rumbles merrily along, health issues or not.

In the last month or so I’ve been tinkering with creating and designing my own knits inspired by Medieval patterns.  I have been invited to knit items to be sold at Medieval Festivals in Australia.

I’ve been working on fingerless gloves…

007

003

 and coin pouches…
031

032

In spite of what we tend to think, Medieval colors, were bright and cheery.  Pinks, reds, greens, blues, yellows.  Although in my research, I haven’t found mention of orange really at all. Doesn’t that seem odd?

002Current fingerless

My Box-Of-Knitted-Things has to be sent next month to have to get to Australia before the fun is over.  If you’re curious about Medieval Reenactments here’s a great site to check out (and I’ll have a few more to share with you in the next few weeks):

http://abbeytournament.com/blog/

You can read all about the Festival that takes place in Brisbane, Australia.

Laugh. Dance. Learn. Create. Knit.

or whatever you love to do!

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Been Forever

  1. Crystal Johnson says:

    It’s so good to see you blog again!

  2. Marie says:

    Phyrne, you are such a cheerleader. Thank you for that!

  3. Pingback: Medieval Wood-working, Embroidery, and Wood-burning

Leave a Reply

