Nordic Mittens

Nordic patterns, especially for mittens, get me inspired and enthusiastic to knit. When I can’t find enthusiasm, this is one of my go-to books and like magic, the world is a more beautiful place.

selbuvotterBook04_22

So when my friend, Phryne,  who participates in Medieval reenactments with authentic handmade garments, tools, shoes, foods, etc.,  asked if I’d make her some Nordic mitt I was all over it.

005

Since Phryne chose red and pink, I chose the mitt pattern that has hearts on it. 007I got the cuff knit and started on the wrist and it became obvious something needed to change. You can see how the color values are too close, the pattern is not discernible.

So I ran to the store, got more yarn, and began again:

003

Now a lovely light pink and red.

006Thumb gusset knitted and awaiting a thumb.

Laugh. Dance. Learn. Create. Knit

or whatever you love to do

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nordic Mittens

  1. Eric says:

    Oh, those dreaded thumbs. 🙂

  2. Kristine says:

    So fun to see what you’re making even though we’re miles and miles apart. You’re love for other people inspires me. 🙂

  3. You have crazy, awesome knitting skills.

Leave a Reply

