The History of Christmas Mittens

Years ago, I knitted these over-sized mittens to hang on the mantel for Christmas.

Up to then, Eric and I had plain vanilla type stockings, Nicole and Chris had ginormous cute adorable stockings that you could fit a golden retriever into that they had gotten from my parents. By the time Dylan came, my parents were no longer giving huge stockings and I couldn’t find any, so Dylan and Mike got Ye Olde Boring Vanilla Stockings and were clearly feeling left out.

Being me, and not being happy with the odd assortment and wanting the kids to feel equally loved, I wanted

1. stockings that matched in size and color scheme

and

2. stockings that I could make

and

3. something a bit random (you knew that was coming)

And so Those Big Cute Mittens were born.

Now we find we’ve kinda entered a new season at our house again. This last year, our two oldest kids got married (one set moved out of state) and our 19 yr old is about to bust out of here and move to Arizona in the spring.  

So, as I hung the mittens this year, I find I’m ready for a change as well.

Enter….pretty homemade stockings.

Stocking pattern by Anne Mende found on Ravelry for purchase here:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/6-christmas-stockings

Yes,  I’m SO SO excited.  My goal for next Christmas is to have 4 done–for the 4 of us that will still be living here.  Then the next Christmas I want the other 5 done…Dylan isn’t allowed to even think about getting married until all the stockings are knitted for the current family.  I’m sure he understands.

Have you made your own stockings or other Christmas things?  I would love to hear all about it.

Laugh. Dance. Learn. Create. Knit

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The History of Christmas Mittens

  1. Sutherlandcrew says:

    I love these new stockings. Can’t wait. Dont get me wrong, i loved the mittens too, but the stockings are cuter yet.

  2. Krista says:

    They are both adorable ideas for stockings! The huge mittens are so cute, but I LOVE the Nordic style socks. I need to think of something to do for Bear and me. 🙂

    • Knittingthemoment says:

      There has to be something completely Aussie that you can do. I can’t wait to hear all about what you discover. 🙂

Leave a Reply

