Pilot Error

I found out my son in law became an uncle to a 1 lb. 14 oz premie little girl and I had to knit something.  One of the keys to me coping with chronic migraines is being able to focus some energy on other people.  I had bought a pattern book for premies some time back so I whipped it out and picked a pattern.

I had a migraine.  It wasn’t quite kicking my arse, I was still able to sit up and knit a bit, but bad enough that no matter how careful I am, the pattern directions I’m reading will not translate into the brain and out again into the knitted thing correctly.  It just won’t.

I cast on this sweater, then cast it on again, and then again on another yarn because I was SURE that the pattern was wrong and that it was going to be miles too big and on and on I argued with myself.  So I knit it in both yarns at the same time cuz I couldn’t figure out if it was going to work or not, and when the headache cleared and the dust settled, and I sat down to work on it I realized that the pattern was perfect and clear and correct and it was only pilot error, and if someone had found the “black box” in the crash that is my head, even they wouldn’t be able to figure out what I was thinking.

So here is wee little baby sweater exactly the dimensions the pattern said it would be, knitted on DK yarn that I dyed myself.

Now I’ve been knitting mittens these last few days because, well, Christmas is coming. (Don’t blame me, it’s not my fault.) I decided that I should find out how long it takes to knit a mitten to see if it’s reasonable to knit mittens for people in my world, and sat down to time myself. It takes just shy of an hour and a half to knit one mitten sans thumb.  (I’ll spend a day doing nothing but thumbs later.)

So I knit 3 mitts yesterday while I watched CSI: NY and The Big Bang Theory and Say Yes to the Dress (don’t roll your eyes at me) -I finished the 2nd of Nicole’s blue one and a pair of pink ones for I-don’t-know-who.  (But probably my sweet neighbor that has Adrienne over to play.)

Today we’re celebrating Korean Thanksgiving in honor of our Korean born daughter.  What are you up to today?

Laugh. Dance. Learn. Create. Knit

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pilot Error

  1. The sweater and mittens are beautiful Marie. And I’m so glad you were able to beat the headache on Saturday evening to come party with us. ❤ Hugs ❤

  2. Krista says:

    All your projects are absolutely gorgeous, my friend. I just love them. The colors are so cheery and bright and vivid, just what’s needed in knit wear. 🙂 I am up to writing, interviewing, and reading. Lots of work to do. 🙂

  3. Terry wright says:

    You did a beautiful job on this Marie.

  4. Dan says:

    Thanks for the sweater! It’ll look great on Eli!

  5. ThisANNthat says:

    Darling, you make me laugh! I can see the tecs scratching their heads, trying to make sense of your black box brain! I don’t think anyone could do that – you are so unique. I love the gorgeous colours of your yarns, they would brighten the darkest winter day. I am getting ready to celebrate my middle daughters’ seventeenth birthday today. yippee.

Leave a Reply

