Editorial-Favorite children’s patterns

Who makes your favorite children’s patterns?

Sirdar

There’s no competition for me.  I think most of their styles are delightful.  They use a range of yarn weights, contents and colors in their patterns, from sport/DK to chunky, from cotton to wool, from light pastels to bright lollipop colors.  Sweaters, socks, mittens, hats, vests, boleros, shrugs, layettes-they do it all. Easy stockinette to more challenging cable and lace patterns.  And they are written in a clear and understandable way.  I found a Sirdar book when I first began knitting that had the cutest stinkin’ baby sweater on the front with raglan sleeves (which I’d never knit before), and though I had no idea if I could knit it, threw caution to the wind and bought it.  The directions were so easy to follow I had success with the pattern the very first time.

My three favorite things about Sirdar are:

1. Usually each sweater has a variation. Two different collars to choose from, or short or long sleeves, for example.

2. Each pattern is made for many sizes (and therefore ages) of children.  The books I have have directions from birth through age 7 or 8.

3. They COLOR CODE their sizes.  The mere brilliance of it!  So their patterns will look like this:  Cast on 36 (42, 48, 54, 60). The colors carry throughout.

These are my very own Sirdar books…if I only had more money…and time…and yarn…

Here’s their website:

SIRDAR

Sit down with a cold drink and enjoy browsing.

laugh. dance. learn. create. knit.

 

Image | This entry was posted in editorial. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Editorial-Favorite children’s patterns

  1. Krista says:

    Ohhhh, those pictures are adorable!! Makes you want to have a whole passel of grandkids just so you can dress them, eh? 🙂

Leave a Reply

