Barf and Bolero

Toby (our 6 mo. old pup) puked on my bed early this morning whilst I slept.  I woke to my husband on his hands and knees next to the bed with a bowl of soapy water and a sponge trying to clean the dog bile off our brand new black and white bedspread.  And so the day began.

Toby-bringer of bile

And apparently I can’t read.  It’s happened before and I can’t figure out how it keeps happening.  I got all the pieces of the bolero done and set about to putting the ribbing on when I looked suspiciously at the bit of yarn I had left, back at the pattern, back at the yarn, reread the directions for the last part literally 6 or 7 times, until I was completely convinced that I wouldn’t have enough yarn, which totally baffled me because I distinctly remember being delighted that this sweater was only going to need one skein of yarn. In spite of staunch confidence in my memory (which is laughable) I reread the amount of yarn required….and yep, there it was- 2 skeins.  After throwing a tizz (silently-I didn’t want to alarm the children), and realizing that yes I do have to drive into town (30 minutes each way) for another skein, I ate some candy, watched Bonanza, and felt better.

In the end, I wound up with this:

So I finished the bolero, washed puke out of the bedspread and let the dog live.  All is right with the world.

laugh. dance. learn. create. knit.

Image | This entry was posted in finished knit. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Barf and Bolero

  1. Krista says:

    The bolero is so darn cute!! 🙂 Well worth puke and tizzies and drives to town. 🙂

  2. Leslie says:

    This is so cute!

  3. JelliDonut says:

    As a fellow knitter with a small canine puker, I’m drawn to your blog like a moth to a flame. Too funny!

Leave a Reply

